Rewind: Unesco World Heritage Sites of Argentina


Known for its fine wine and rich meat, Argentina is surely considered as one of the world’s most beautiful countries. Featuring forested mountains, hilly countryside and vast plains, this state is as rich in natural panoramas as it is in cultural heritage.

a argentina

It is not a surprise that UNESCO chose nine Argentinian sites to safeguard under its World Heritage Sites List. Among those nine places, five are cultural and four natural.

a mar-del-plata-rambla03

Before starting to tell you about each one of those sites, I will first give you a brief introduction on Argentina.

a 21 Lago Argentino

Located in Latin America, Argentina covers most of the Southern Cone, and borders Bolivia, Paraguay, Brazil, Uruguay, the South Atlantic Ocean and Chile.

a BARIF-argentina-biking-

The country’s capital city is Buenos Aires and thanks to Argentina’s national wealth, this nation is declared third largest Latin American economy.

a buenos-aires-argentina-travel-guide



Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park is home to a large number of animals, such as tapirs, giant anteaters, howler monkeys, ocelots, jaguars and caymans. This site is located right on the borders with Argentina and Brazil, and it declared as the one place to feature the most spectacular waterfalls in the world. Under UNESCO since 1984.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAiguazu 1aiguazu 1biguazu 1ciguazu 2iguazu 3iguazu 4 resiguazu 5 tagiguazu 6iguazu 7 tagIguaçu National Parkiguazu 9?????????????????????????????????????????????iguazu 11 tag


Península Valdés
Península Valdés is situated in Patagonia and it includes a series of gulfs, rocky cliffs, shallow bays and lagoons, sandy beaches, coastal sand dunes and small islands. This site is home to a very large number of marine mammals, and for this it is of high importance for animal conservation. Under UNESCO since 1999.
península 1 respenínsula 2península 3península 4 ingpenínsula 5 respenínsula 5a respenínsula 6península 7península 8 ingpenínsula 9 ingSONY DSCpenínsula 11península 12 tag ingpenínsula 13 ingpenínsula 14 tagpenínsula 15 ingpenínsula 16


Ischigualasto / Talampaya Natural Parks
Ischigualasto and Talampaya—under UNESCO since 2000—are two parks that span 275,300 ha in the desert region on the western border of the Sierra Pampeanas of central Argentina. Traces of continental fossils from the Triassic Period were found in this site(s). The fossils found in this area belong to ancestors of mammals, dinosaurs and plants.
talampaya 1 ingtalampaya 2 restalampaya 3 restalampaya 4talampaya 5 restalampaya 6 restalampaya 7 restalampaya 8talampaya 8a ingtalampaya 9talampaya 10talampaya 11talampaya 12Parque Ischigualasto


Quebrada de Humahuaca
This cultural site, safeguarded by the UNESCO since 2003, follows the line of a cultural route called “Camino Inca”. The areas touched by the “Camino Inca”, and so by the Quebrada de Humahuaca, are the spectacular valley of the Rio Grande, the High Andean desert plateau, and the Rio Leone.
quebrada 1quebrada 2quebrada 3 ingCerro de los Siete Colores, Purmamarca, Quebrada de Humahuaca, Province of Jujuy, Argentina, South Americaquebrada 5 resquebrada 6quebrada 7 resquebrada 7aquebrada 8 ingquebrada 9quebrada 10 resOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAquebrada 12


The Los Glaciares National Park
Under UNESCO since 1981, Los Glaciares National Park presents an exceptional natural beauty, given by rugged mountains and large glacial lakes located all around the park. Los Glaciares is located in the Southwest of Santa Cruz Province in the Argentine part of Patagonia.
Los Glaciares 1 tag resLos Glaciares 1Los Glaciares 1a ingLos Glaciares 1b resLos Glaciares 2Los Glaciares 3 resLos Glaciares 4Los Glaciares 5 resLos Glaciares 7 resLos Glaciares 7a ingLos Glaciares 7b resLos Glaciares 8Los Glaciares 9Los Glaciares 10 tag resLos Glaciares 11 tag resLos Glaciares 12 ingLos Glaciares 13Los Glaciares 14Los Glaciares 15 resLos Glaciares 16 resLos Glaciares 17Los Glaciares 18 ingLos Glaciares 19Los Glaciares 20 res

Check out our previous articles on UNESCO’s World Heritage Sites of Italy    Mexico     Spain     Australia   Germany     South Africa     Thailand     Finland     Indonesia 1 and 2     Bolivia     Ethiopia     Denmark   Guatemala      Austria     Armenia     Croatia     Congo


(All photos are taken from and they all belong to their original owners)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,